#wildworkoutwednesday with a side of #runningsugarfree

I was chatting with a friend last night at dinner. She asked if I was still following my 21DSD protocol. Sigh.

No.

209601_w600-280x196

However, I’m coming to grips with this. I’m about 80% good – clean eating, no sugar…and 20% off the plan – ice cream with the kids, grilling outdoors with friends. Now’s the time of year where all I can do is be consistent as possible….listen to my body, make good choices and not beat myself up about the occasional “off-menu” choices.

I also had a realization this week….all these belly issues? Started during my battle with sinus infections in 2013. A year of being on antibiotics every 4-6 weeks destroyed my gut. I’m so incredibly thankful that I was able to have surgery and solve the sinus problem. But my insides suffered in the process….and I never made the connection until now.

I came across Ginger Newtrition recently and got sucked into her Love your Liver Spring Detox. It’s not that far off from what I did on the 21DSD – no sugar, clean eating. And it includes things that I’ve heard of and have wanted to try…including tongue scraping, elixirs, green tea, probiotics, oil pulling, etc. I’m all for adding anything to my routine that can help my gut heal. And once again, having a group for some accountability, daily posts, emails, connections – it really makes a difference.

11329789_1067684896593266_7947746946834999731_n

I’m ALSO super pleased with the programming I’m following for my workouts. My body is thriving on the strength and shorter metabolic conditioning segments. I can already tell I’m getting stronger. My technique on my lifts FEELS better. I’m not completely wiped out at the end of the day.

Everything I’m doing at this point seems to be working, moving in the right direction…making me better. And I’m excited to keep taking the little steps in the right direction.


wild-workout

Ok! Now what you’ve all been waiting for…Wild Workout Wednesday! 😉

WOD: 

  • 6.1 miles
  • Muscle snatches from mid-thigh 3 sets of 5 reps
  • Clean pull + power clean (2+1) x 4 sets
  • Handstand holds 20 seconds x 3 sets
  • 1 mile

sweet

Leave a Reply

