Sloooooooooooow cooking….

scared

Our crock pot has always been my favorite method to cook…mostly because I’m not a chef. Recipes kind of scare me. I get nervous if it has more than 5 ingredients. But after doing the 21DSD, I’m less scared. Our pantry is nicely outfitted with more staples than we’ve ever had, so I don’t have to make a grocery run if I’m trying something new. And being able to surprise my hubby with a new dish, and have him boast “I’d eat this every day!” makes me feel like a Top Chef.

Today I found a bunch of Slow Cooker Recipes for Warmer Weather. Right up my alley! Our crock pot has an easy access home, just under the utensil drawer in our kitchen…always poised to use!

The Springtime Minestrone looks amazing and is the first one I’m going to try today!

ingredients:

1 sweet onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
3 carrots, peeled and sliced
1 (28 ounce) can of diced tomatoes
2 (15 ounce) cans of cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
3 cups low-sodium vegetable stock
3 cups water
8 ounces of uncooked ditalini pasta – I’m going to use some rice pasta for ours
12 thin asparagus spears, stems removed and cut into thirds
1 cup of frozen sweet peas
1 (6 ounce) bag of fresh spinach
1/3 cup freshly grated romano cheese + more for topping
salt and pepper to taste

*I’m a little nervous about the asparagus – over the course of the last few months, I’ve learned that MANY veggies don’t agree with my tummy, but I’m ready to give the asparagus a chance…..!!! Stay tuned….I’ll let you know!

sweet

Leave a Reply

